Gideon: “An independent judiciary is fundamental for the rule of law.”

AUGUSTA – Less than 24 hours before their confirmation during the October 23 special session, Governor LePage has withdrawn his nominations of five judicial reappointments. The governor had nominated Justices Robert E. Murray of Bangor, MaryGay Kennedy of Brunswick, Ann M. Murray of Bangor to the Maine Superior Court and Judges Bruce Jordan of Veazie and Susan E. Oram of Auburn to the Maine District Court. These appointments had all been approved by the legislature’s Judiciary Committee with participation from members of the LePage Administration.

Speaker Sara Gideon released the following statement:
“The governor’s decision to withdraw these nominations, without any explanation, is deeply troubling. An independent judiciary is fundamental for the rule of law and the integrity of our system. All Mainers have the right to access the court system in a timely manner and this type of delay could affect the delivery of justice. It is our duty to ensure there is a swift resolution to this matter.”